How long do robot vacuums actually last?
The published answers range from two years to seven. The mechanism that kills a working robot is not the one they describe.
The short version
- If you mean “still cleans”
- Three to five years of daily use is the range most owner reports and the repair data agree on. That is not the robot wearing out — it is the battery, the brushes and the filters reaching the end of their service intervals, all of which are replaceable.
- If you mean “still works as sold”
- Shorter, and much less predictable. Two robot vacuum ecosystems have already been shut down or sold while their machines were mechanically fine. Cloud services, app control and over-the-air updates can stop on a date nobody warned you about.
- The first thing to go
- The battery, at roughly 400–600 charge cycles — about 18 months to 2.5 years if the robot runs daily. It is also the cheapest fix, typically $30–60.
- The thing that ends ownership
- A repair bill reaching 40–50% of a new machine, or a part that stops being manufactured. Neither appears in any lifespan estimate you will read.
Search this question and you get a number between two and seven years, stated with total confidence, from a page that does not say where the number came from. Pull four of those pages side by side, as we did below, and they disagree by more than a factor of three on the same appliance. That is not because one is right and three are wrong. It is because “how long does it last” is really four different questions, and most guides answer only the easiest one.
What we did
We compared the lifespan figures published by the pages that rank for this question, alongside the maintenance and warranty documentation from the manufacturers themselves. Where a guide gives a number without a source, we say so rather than repeat it as fact.
Then we looked at the mechanisms instead of the averages: what actually fails, in what order, and at what cost, drawn from owner reports and from repair-side data — the failure patterns that service businesses see repeatedly rather than the ones a single annoyed reviewer writes about once.
Everything below is either a figure a source publishes, or a mechanism that source documents. Where a number is not published, the page says so instead of estimating it. The four-way disagreement is the finding; treating any single number as the answer is what this page exists to argue against.
The four published answers, side by side
These are the figures from the pages that currently rank for this question. They are all real pages, all written by people who know the category, and they do not agree.
| Source type | Published lifespan | What it says fails first | Basis given for the number |
|---|---|---|---|
| Third-party buying guide | 3–5 years | Battery, then brushes and filters | Owner reports; no survey or dataset named |
| Third-party buying guide | 2–6 years | Varies by brand; battery after ~2 years | Brand-by-brand warranty terms and reviews |
| Third-party buying guide | 4–7 years | Not specified | Not stated |
| Brand’s own blog | 4–6 years | Battery, brushes, then support | Not stated — and the page sells robots |
| Repair-industry claims data | Component-level: 1–5 years | Drive motors, then navigation sensors | Claims filed against extended-warranty plans |
The spread is roughly threefold on the same appliance. If you are trying to work out whether to buy one, the honest reading is that nobody publishing a lifespan figure has a dataset that supports it to the year — with one exception, the last row, and that one describes repair claims rather than lifespans because that is what it can actually measure.
Why we are showing you the disagreement rather than picking a winner. A single confident number is easy to publish and impossible to check. The useful question is not “what is the average” but “what fails, in what order, and can I replace it” — because that determines whether your machine reaches year five or gets retired at year two, and it does not depend on anyone’s average.
What actually fails, in order
Across owner reports and repair-side data, the failure order in this category is remarkably consistent. Note how far down the list the parts that people worry about sit.
| Part | Typical service life | Typical replacement cost | User-replaceable? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Filters | 2–6 months | ~$10–20 | Yes, no tools |
| Side brushes | 3–6 months | ~$10–25 | Yes, no tools |
| Main brush roll | 6–12 months | ~$10–25 | Yes, no tools |
| Battery | 400–600 charge cycles (~18 months–2.5 years daily) |
~$30–60 | Yes on most models |
| Drive wheel treads | 2–4 years | ~$10–25 | Yes, ~10 minutes |
| Dock components (self-empty / self-wash) | 1–2 years for seals and pumps | Varies; often not sold separately | Usually not |
| Navigation sensors | 2–4 years per repair data | ~$50–100 if available | No |
| Drive motors | 3–5 years per repair data | ~$230–390 | No |
Two things stand out. First, the expensive repairs are the rare ones. The motor and the navigation board are the failure points that get discussed most and happen least; the parts that genuinely define the service life of the machine cost less than a family takeaway.
Second, there is a clean dividing line down the right-hand column. Everything above the battery you replace yourself in a minute with no tools. Everything below the wheels needs a workshop, a part number that may no longer exist, and a quote.
The one that catches people out: the battery is the highest-frequency failure in the category and the part most likely to be excluded from your warranty, because manufacturers classify it as a consumable. The part that will certainly need replacing is the part the warranty is least likely to cover. Check that clause before you buy, not after the robot starts cutting runs short.
The number nobody quotes: charge cycles, not years
Every battery in this category is rated in charge cycles, and almost no lifespan guide converts that into years — which is why the published ranges are so wide. The conversion is where the real answer lives.
A lithium-ion pack in a robot vacuum typically holds its useful capacity for 400–600 full cycles. A robot on a daily schedule charges after almost every run, so it accumulates cycles fast: that is roughly 18 months to 2.5 years before you notice runs getting shorter and the robot returning to its dock mid-job.
This is the single best explanation for the disagreement in the table above. A guide assuming one run a week arrives at a much longer lifespan than one assuming a daily schedule, and neither might tell you which they assumed. “How long do robot vacuums last” is really “how many cycles does yours accumulate per year” — and that is a question about your home, not the appliance.
The good news is that this is the most fixable failure on the machine. A replacement pack runs roughly $30–60 for most models, takes minutes to fit, and restores the runtime that made you buy the robot in the first place. If your machine has started cutting runs short at around two years, it is following the spec sheet, not breaking. The question worth asking is whether it is still worth $40 to you.
The failure mode that ends ownership without anything breaking
Everything above is mechanical, and mechanical failure is at least honest: the robot degrades, you notice, you decide. There is a second failure mode in this category that is not on any lifespan table, because the machine keeps working while the product stops existing. It has happened twice already, to two of the largest brands in the market.
Case one: Neato, and the cloud that switched off
Neato Robotics stopped operating in 2023. Before closing, the company committed to keeping its cloud services running for five years, and its then-owner Vorwerk continued funding that platform after the company was gone — which is, to be fair, more than most owners of a dead brand get.
In October 2025, Vorwerk confirmed that the cloud was being phased out anyway. Its stated reason was not cost or neglect but regulation: in the years since Neato closed, cybersecurity and data-protection requirements had moved, and the company said the legacy systems could no longer be operated safely. In its own announcement it called the decision one of protecting owners’ privacy and data rather than convenience.
The practical effect on the hardware is the part relevant here. Owners who relied on:
- the companion app for control and history,
- remote start and scheduling,
- smart-home integrations with voice assistants,
- stored maps and no-go zones,
- over-the-air firmware updates,
…lost those functions. The robots still clean. What remains is a manual machine: you press the button on top, and it runs the whole floor, with no zones, no schedule and no app. The vacuum did not break. Roughly half of what the buyer paid for stopped existing on a date nobody was warned about in advance.
A community petition asking the parent company to release the cloud interface so owners could keep supporting the devices is a reasonable measure of how this landed.
Case two: iRobot, the market leader, sold
For most of this category’s history, the safe assumption was that iRobot — the company that effectively created the product — would outlast any individual robot. That assumption did not hold. In the space of two years, the company went from an agreed acquisition by Amazon to bankruptcy proceedings to a new owner:
- January 2024 — Amazon’s acquisition, already reduced from $1.7bn to $1.4bn, was abandoned after regulators signalled they would block it.
- December 2025 — iRobot filed Chapter 11 in the United States, having reported a 24% revenue decline the previous year.
- January 2026 — it emerged as a subsidiary of a Shenzhen manufacturer that had been its contract manufacturer and creditor. The company stated that app functionality, customer programmes and product support would continue.
The hardware is fine and continues to be supported by the new owner’s own account. But the structural point is the one worth carrying forward to whatever you buy next: the brand that looks most permanent in this category is a bet like any other brand. A 35-year-old company with a 42% share of the US market was restructured twice in two years, and no lifespan guide would have told you to expect that from the name on the box.
Why this belongs in an article about lifespan. When owners say a robot “lasted three years,” they usually mean it stopped working. In both cases above, machines of that age were mechanically healthy and had lost the software layer that made them smart. The published lifespan tables cannot see this failure mode, because it does not show up in repair data — nothing needed repairing. It is the single biggest reason a robot vacuum can be perfectly functional and useless at the same time.
Repair or replace: the arithmetic owners actually use
The decision point in this category is not an age. It is a ratio.
| If the fault is… | Cost bracket | The sensible call |
|---|---|---|
| Filter, brush, wheel | Under ~$25 | Replace the part. This is maintenance, not a repair. |
| Battery | ~$30–60 | Replace it, up to about year four. This is the best-value repair on the machine. |
| Sensor or dock module | ~$50–150 | Worth it on a machine under three years old that is otherwise clean. |
| Drive motor or board | ~$150–390 | Compare directly against a new machine. This is where most owners stop. |
| Anything, on a 4+ year old robot | Any amount | The technology has moved enough that a mid-range replacement usually cleans better than the flagship it replaces. |
The rule of thumb that repair-side sources converge on: once a quote reaches 40–50% of the price of a comparable new machine, owners almost always replace. That is not a technical threshold, it is a psychological one, and it is the number that actually ends most robot vacuum ownership in practice.
What to check before buying, if lifespan matters to you
Every item below is answerable before you buy, from the product page or the manual, and none of it is in the lifespan estimates you will read elsewhere.
- Is the battery user-replaceable, and is it sold separately? If the answer is no, the design life of the machine is the life of the battery — roughly two to three years — and the published lifespan figures do not apply to it.
- Are the consumables sold as parts, or bundled with assemblies? A brush roll you cannot buy on its own turns a $15 maintenance job into a new cleaning head.
- Does it depend on a cloud account to do its main job? Scheduling, maps and voice control normally run through the vendor’s servers. If they do, the functions have a lifetime set by the company, not the hardware. A machine that can start a full clean from its own button has a floor under its usefulness that a cloud-dependent one does not.
- What is excluded from the warranty? Look specifically for batteries and brushes. On most brands they are excluded as consumables, which means the two parts most likely to need replacing are the two the warranty will not cover.
- How long has the previous generation been supported? This is the only real evidence about the next one, and it is measurable: check when the model you are looking at replaced its predecessor, and whether the older one still gets app updates.
The question we would ask instead
Not “how long do robot vacuums last” — “how long will this one keep doing the job I bought it for, and is the thing that ends that the machine or the company?”
For the machine, the answer is knowable and usually cheerful: three to five years, with a battery and a couple of brush rolls along the way, for well under a hundred dollars. That is a good appliance with an honest maintenance schedule.
For the company, the answer is genuinely not knowable, and this category has now produced two cautionary examples at the very top of the market. The sensible response is not to avoid the category — it is to buy a machine whose basic job does not depend on someone else’s servers staying switched on, and to treat the app as a feature you rent rather than one you own.
Sources
Every figure above is either published by one of the following or derived by arithmetic from published figures, labelled as such in the text. Sources were read on 26 September 2026. Where a page states a lifespan without naming a dataset, we report that it names none rather than repeating the number as settled fact.
- Published lifespan ranges compared in the first table: the third-party buying guides and brand blog currently ranking for this question, each read in full.
- Component service lives, replacement-cost brackets and the repair-versus-replace threshold: a claims dataset from an extended-warranty provider, covering several hundred thousand claims across consumer electronics, plus the published parts and service documentation of multiple manufacturers and independent repair businesses.
- Battery charge cycles: lithium-ion cycle-life figures reported across the category’s buying guides and confirmed against manufacturer consumable guidance; the conversion to years is our arithmetic and is labelled as such.
- Neato cloud shutdown — dates, affected features and what still works: Neato’s own support announcement of 6 October 2025, the parent company’s statement to press, and contemporaneous technology reporting.
- iRobot restructuring — filing, emergence and continuity statement: the company’s own announcement of 23 January 2026 and contemporaneous business reporting on the Chapter 11 filing of December 2025 and the abandoned acquisition.
We have deliberately not named individual robot models as “the one that lasts” on this page. The variables that decide lifespan — replaceable battery, availability of parts, independence from a cloud account — are checkable on any model, and a recommendation that ignores them because a particular robot scored well is the failure mode this page exists to argue against.
One thing we are not doing here: quoting a single number as the answer. The published ranges disagree threefold because they are answering different questions, and the useful version of this article is the mechanism, not the average. See Cleaning for the rest of the criteria we apply to this category, and how we get paid if you want to know what a commission does and does not buy here.